About Us


Don Bosco was born in a tiny little village called Becchi in northern Italy, on August 16, 1815. From an early age, he was drawn toward helping poor children. At the age of 9 he had a dream in which it was revealed to him that his life’s mission would be to help poor and disadvantaged youngsters. In 1835 he entered the seminary and supported himself by working as a tailor, blacksmith, shoemaker, carpenter, violinist, acrobat, and magician. All these talents came in handy during his lifetime of working with youngsters. He was ordained a priest on June 5, 1841, and settled down in the city of Turin. On December 8, 1841, he met an orphan Bartolomew Garelli, who became his first pupil. From that day Don Bosco’s work grew rapidly and he set up several homes and schools for poor and disadvantaged boys in Italy as well as in other parts of the world. Don Bosco died on January 31, 1888, and was canonized in 1934 as the Apostle of Youth.

The “Salesian Society” is an International Religious Organization within the Catholic Church, founded by Don Bosco to serve youngsters, especially those who are poor and disadvantaged. The key characteristics of the members of this Society are:

A special concern for the welfare of young people.

An attitude of loving kindness, optimism and cheerfulness.

A realistic perspective on life coupled with creativity and flexibility in action.

The use of an educative method called ‘The Preventive System’ which based entirely on reason, religion and loving kindness.

A deep trust in God and in his loving care for all people.

Presently there are close to 17,000 Salesians working in 128 countries spread out in all the five continents of the globe.

The first group of Salesian to come to India landed in Mumbai on January 6, 1906, under the leadership of Fr. George Tomatis. From Bombay they travelled to Thanjavur in South India where the first Salesian Institution in India was established. In 1922 the second group of Salesians, under the leadership of Fr. Louis Mathias, arrived in India and they began working in Assam. During the past 100 years that the Salesians have been in India, they have established educational institutions and other works for youngsters all over the country. Presently the Salesians in India are divided into 10 regions called “provinces”. There are over 2000 Salesians working in close to 300 institutions across the country.

Salesian Province of St. Francis Xavier Bombay (INB)

The Salesians began their apostolate in the city of Bombay in 1928 and from there it spread to other places in Maharashtra, Goa, and eventually all over western India. Their ministry in this region was blessed with rapid growth thanks largely to the phenomenal work done by Fr. Aurelius Maschio.

The Salesian Province of Bombay was officially established on January 31, 1972. It comprises the states of Maharashtra, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh in western and central India. There are presently 210 Salesians working in 33 institutions spread out over these four states. These institutions offer a variety of services to poor and disadvantaged youth.

Societas Sancti Francisci Salesii (Society of Saint Francis de Sales)




Da mihi animas; caetera tolle

(Give me souls; take away the rest)

Principal Patroness

Mary Help of Christians


St Francis de Sales




Fr. Savio Silveira

Vice Provincial

Fr. Ashley Miranda

Provincial Economer

Fr. Manuel Murzello

Provincial Councillors

Fr Barnabe D’Souza

Fr Blany Pinto

Fr Gregory D’Almeida

Fr James Tuscano

Fr Michael Bansode

Provincial Secretary

Fr. Vinod Mascarenhas


Ashley Miranda

Banzelao Teixeira Blany Pinto

Brian Moras Ian Doulton

Royston Colaco Wyman Gonsalves


Coordinating Team

James Tuscano Councillor In-Charge

Leon Cruz Ratinam Delegate

Osborn Furtado Education to the Faith

Bernard Fernandes Education and Culture

Bryce Fernandes Social Experience

Ajoy Fernandes Vocational Guidance


Oratories and Youth Centres

Bryce Fernandes

Evangelo D’Souza Mavron Fernandes

Renold Lemos


Bernard Fernandes

Ajit Munis Ajoy Fernandes

Glen Fernandes Valerie Mascarenhas

Technical Institutions

Anaclete D’Mello

Amarr Prabhu Anto Thomas

Briston Britto Donald Fernandez

Melvyn Carvalho Sanjay Lopes

Higher Education Institutions

Barnabe D’Souza

Anthony Pinto Flovi D’Souza

Pearl Fernandes

Youth at Risk

George Miranda

Corlis Gonsalves Lester Fernandes

Roshan Gonsalves Xavier Devadas


Isaac Arackaparambil

Dominic Martis James Nigrel

Richard D’Silva Royal D’Abreo

Solomon Rapol

Social Ministry

Manuel Murzello

Anto Thomas George D’Abreo

Mayank Parmar Pratap Damor

Surekha Pednekar


Education to the Faith

Osborn Furtado

Ajit Munis Dominic Martis

Joy Fernandes Renold Lemos

Roshan Gonsalves Sanjay Lopes

Education and Culture

Bernard Fernandes

Aliester D’Souza Corlis Gonsalves

Donald Fernandez Evangelo D’Souza

James Nigrel

Social Experience

Bryce Fernandes

Joseph Braganza Lester Fernandes

Melyvn Carvalho Solomon Rapol

Valerie Mascarenhas

Vocational Guidance

Ajoy Fernandes

Ajay D’Monte Glen Fernandes

Mavron Fernandes Mayank Parmar

Xavier Devadas


Michael Bansode

Clarence Martis Jerome Aruldass

Nelson Mudaliar Ranson D’Souza


Gregory Almeida (Councillor)

Christopher George (Delegate)

Aliester D’Souza Joseph Braganza

Joy Fernandes Mayank Parmar


Blany Pinto

George D’Abreo Richard Burkhao

Richard D’Silva Royal D’Abreo

Shaun D’Lima Solomon Rapol

Velasli Bandya Vishal Lopes



Manuel Murzello

Corlis Gonsalves Ravi Panjabi

Roy Noronha Savarino D’Souza


Manuel Murzello

Crispino D’Souza Gregory D’Almeida

Savarino D’Souza Sunil Pereira

Thomas D’Costa


Manuel Murzello

Anaclete D’Mello Anthony Santarita

Deepali Raut George Miranda

Savarino D’Souza Victor Samuel Francis

Vishwas Pereira


Diego Nunes Provincial Delegate/ASC Delegate

Ashley Miranda ADMA (Matunga)

Royal D’Abreo ADMA (Nashik)

Crispino D’Souza DBPP

Allwyn Misquitta MMA

Catherine Fernandes FMA-ASC

Shiny Alphonse FMA-PP

Sharmila D’Souza SMI

John Mathias ADMA (Matunga)

Beatrice Pinto ADMA (Nashik)

Jacinta D’Souza ASC

Rashmin Desai DBPP